2nd Italo-Abyssinian War 1935-1936 Color Schemes

Post topics relating to Colors, Camouflage Schemes and Markings of the Regia Aeronautica and ANR
vikingcelt
Comandante di Squadriglia

2nd Italo-Abyssinian War 1935-1936 Color Schemes

Post by vikingcelt » Fri Apr 20, 2007 10:00 am

Hi ALL!!! :D

This is my first time posting here at STORMO! Thanks for the opportunity to be a member here, looks like a great site! :wink:

Anyway, can anyone tell me where I may find good, accurate, colorful diagrams on full-color of the color schemes used by BOTH combatants during the 2nd Italo-Abyssinian War 1935-1936? I have been searching on my own, and haven't had much success save a diagram of the SM "Pipistrello", but that's it! :?

I would like to build an IMAM RO-37, and a few other aircraft in that color scheme, as well as some planes used by the Ethiopians too. I know they had Potez XXV A5's, and Focke-Wulf FW-56's, as well as a hodge-podge of other aircraft; but info on this period is as rare as the mythical/proverbial "Hen's teeth" LOL!!! :lol:

Lists of aircraft from both sides would also be very helpful - any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks alot, and have a great day! :D

Sincerely,
Ernest (aka "the vikingcelt") :D

Editor
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Editor » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:07 pm

Welcome Ernest,
Thank you for your post. You might want to read the Stormo Color and Camouflage guide on this site, I cover this period briefly. The Italians had established complete air superiority in the Ethiopian War 1936-39 and there was little need to camouflage their aircraft. Instead the Italians used what was referred to as an anti-camouflage scheme comprising radial red strips applied over a contrasting background, usually Bianco Avorio to help identify crashed aircraft. This scheme was typically applied to the upper surfaces of aircraft wings.